## MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

## MINUTES (UNRESERVED)

## 2.00pm onMonday, 11 October 2021 Elton and Bowring Room, Clare College

Present (Reserved)Ms Loretta Minghella (Chair); Mr David Ball; Professor Jason Carroll; Dr Andrew Carter; Professor Maciej Dunajski; Professor Jonathan Goodman; Professor Howard Griffiths; Professor Sian Lazar; Professor Fred Parker; Professor Oliver Shorttle; The Rev'd DMark Smith; and Professor Jacqueline Tasioulas (Senior Tutor). Present (Unreserved)Ms Lily Rafalin (UCS President).

In Attendance: Miss Emma Easterbrook (Secretary); Professor Simon Franklin (President of the Fellowship); and Mr Paul McCarthy (Development Director).

- Apologies
  None.
- Declarations of Interest None.
- 3. UNRESERVED
- (i) Welcome to new membersCouncil formally welcomed the Master, and the Bursar
- (ii) Minutes of 8 July 2021 Approved.
- (iii) Matters Arising None.
- (iv) Admissions 202021

The Admissions Tutor circulated the Admissions Analysis Report to the Council. Thanks were formally noted for the staff in the Tutorial/Admissions Office.

Report on Admissions Round 2020: The College had received a record number

then gave the College very little flexibility in reprieving those who had just miss their offer. Additional widening participation candidates were not sought through the adjustment scheme. The vel process was affected by the COVID pandemic.

possible in the New Year futher report will be presented to Council at its next meeting on 15 November 2021 including a proposal on how to keep the website updated, feedback from other colleges, and branding.

Council approve this plan and greed to recommend the process to the Finance Committee.

Distribution (Unreserved): Ms Samantha Mason (MCR President); and Ms Lily Rafalin (UCS President).

In Attendance: Miss Emma Easterbrook (Secretary) pfessor Simon Franklin (President of the Fellowship); and Mr Paul McCarthy (Development Director).

Emma Easterbrook 12 October 2021