MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

MINUTES (UNRESERVED)

2.00pm on Monday, 12 October 2020 By Zoom

Present (Reserved): Anthony, Lord Grabiner QC (Chair); Professor Jason Carroll; Dr Andrew Carter; Dr Tim Chesters; Dr Maciej Dunajski (up to and including 4(ii)); Professor John Gibson; Professor Jonathan Goodman; Dr Oliver Shorttle; The Rev'd Dr Mark Smith; Dr Jacqueline Tasioulas (Senior Tutor); and Mr Paul Warren.

Present (Unreserved): Mr Will Wood (MCR President).

In Attendance: Miss Emma Easterbrook (Secretary); Dr Tamara Follini (Dean of Students) (between 3(iv) and 3(vi); for Item (3(vi)); Mr Bill O'Hearn (Development Director (between 3(vi) and 4(iv); for Items 4(ii) and 4(iv)); and Mr Ethan Pratt (UCS representative).

Apologies
 Dr Sian Lazar; and Ms Rosa Martin (UCS President).

2. **Declarations of Interest**

(i) *Item 4(iii), The Richard Schwartz Collection*: Mr Paul Warren is a Director and Treasurer of Cambridge in America (CAm).

3. UNRESERVED

- (i) Minutes of 2 July 2020 and 5 October 2020 Approved.
- (ii) Matters Arising None.
- (iii) Welcome to new member

Council formally welcomed new member, Dr Andrew Carter, and thanked outgoing member, Dr Fred Parker, for his work.

(iv) **Admissions 2019-20**

a. *Report on Admissions Round 2019-20*: The Admissions Tutor circulated the Admissions Analysis Report to the Council. The College had accepted 150 undergraduates for 2020-21. These students overall include proportions of 44:56% Science: Arts, and 52:48% Female: Male; of home students educated in the UK, 67.4% were from state schools. This was higher than the figure for the University by the Office for Students (OfS) target (64%). Regarding the specific OfS target categories (POLAR4, and IMD) the College achieved 7.3% for POLAR4 (and the target was 10-13%); and for IMD the College achieved 14.8% (and the target was 8.5%). The reason for not achieving the POLAR4 target was as a result of the way the A-level results were awarded this year. It resulted in the majority of offer holders achieving their offer grades, which then gave the College very little flexibility in reprieving those who had just missed their offer. The

Distribution (**Reserved**): Anthony, Lord Grabiner QC (Chair); Professor Jason Carroll; Dr Andrew Carter; Dr Tim Chesters; Dr Maciej Dunajski; Professor John Gibson; Professor Jonathan Goodman; Dr Sian Lazar; Dr Oliver Shorttle; The Rev'd Dr Mark Smith; Dr Jacqueline Tasioulas (Senior Tutor); Mr Paul Warren; and the Governing Body.

Distribution (Unreserved): Ms Rosa Martin (UCS President); and Mr Will Wood (MCR President).

In Attendance: Miss Emma Easterbrook (Secretary); Dr Tamara Follini (Dean of Students); Mr Bill O'Hearn (Development Director); and Mr Ethan Pratt (UCS representative).

Emma Easterbrook 13 October 2020